Lara Ewen
  • Death Better Take Me Dancing
  • Restless
  • Reckless
  • One Day
  • How To Be Your Girl
  • A Whole Lot Worse
  • Keeping It In
  • All The Way There
  • The Hospital Song
  • Breakdown Lane
  • The Outlaw Song
Brooklyn-based singer/songwriter Lara Ewen tells stories, most of which are true. The semi-autobiographical nature of her work blends both the real and the imagined, and musical landscape Lara navigates is as unexpected as her lyrical twists: multiple variations on country, Americana, and singer/songwriter influences abound, drawing comparisons to musicians who sometimes get summarily lumped into the folk category, such as Patty Griffin, Lucinda Williams and Jonatha Brooke.

Her first full-length album, Ghosts and Gasoline, was released in spring 2007. Produced by Allen Farmelo (Ian Gillan, Rachel Z), it followed 2002's Clear EP, which was a five-song solo acoustic recording.

In September 2013, Lara will release The Wishing Stone Songs, an 11-track album produced at GaluminumFoil Studios by Chris Cubeta (Wakey!Wakey!, Harper Blynn). This new recording features performances from Lara's friends and members of the NYC music community, including Catherine Popper on upright bass (Grace Potter and the Nocturnals, Ryan Adams, Jack White); on violin, Tarrah Reynolds (Alicia Keys, Harry Connick Jr.) and Eleanor Whitmore (Steve Earle, Regina Spektor, Kelly Willis); and Gerald Menke on pedal steel (Justin Townes Earle). The first single from that album, Death Better take Me Dancing, is currently available online everywhere independent digital music is sold.

The CD release event for The Wishing Stone Songs is on September 21, 2013 at Jalopy Theatre in Brooklyn, NY at 10pm. Tickets available through

photo credit: Katie Basile
The Wishing Stone Track List:
1. Death Better Take Me Dancing
2. One Day
3. How To Be Your Girl
4. A Whole Lot Worse
5. Restless
6. Keeping It In
7. All The Way There
8. The Hospital Song
9. Reckless
10. Breakdown Lane
11. The Outlaw Song

The Wishing Stone Album Credits

Produced, engineered and mixed by Chris Cubeta at Galuminum Foil Studios, Brooklyn, NY
Assistant engineers: Jeff Berner and Gary Atturio
Mastered by Jeff Lipton at Peerless Mastering, Boston, MA
Assistant mastering engineer: Maria Rice

The band:
Lead guitar: Mark Marshall, Jeff Jacobson (How To Be Your Girl)
Percussion: Ryan Vaughn
Bass: Kate Kilbane (electric); Catherine Popper (upright)
Violin: Tarrah Reynolds (How To Be Your Girl, The Outlaw Song), Eleanor Whitmore (Death Better Take Me Dancing)
Harmonica: “Shaky” Dave Pollack
Pedal steel: Gerald Menke
Piano: Chris Cubeta
Background vocals: Paul Basile (Keeping It In), Kate Kilbane (A Whole Lot Worse), Jessi Robertson (The Hospital Song), Bryan Dunn (One Day), Chris Cubeta (One Day)

Album design by Gail Ghezzi
Cover illustration by Sharon Ber
Interior illustrations by Jennifer Noonan
Illustration editor: Sharon Ber
CD manufacturing by Megalodon
  • Members:
    Lara Ewen
  • Sounds Like:
    Lucinda Williams, Jonatha Brooke, Patty Griffin
  • Influences:
    John Prine, Tom Waits, Suzanne Vega
  • AirPlay Direct Member Since:
  • Profile Last Updated:
    03/27/22 06:14:40

"Radio Creds" are votes awarded to artists by radio programmers who have downloaded their music and have been impressed with the artist's professionalism and the audience's response to the new music. Creds help artists advance through the AirPlay Direct community.

Only radio accounts may add a Radio Cred. One week after the track has been downloaded the radio account member will receive an email requesting a Cred for each artist they've downloaded.